Book Review: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Anna-Dressed-in-Blood---Kendare-Blake

As some of you may notice that I may have a certain addiction with books that contain darker elements.

I love paranormal stories especially when they involve spirits/ghosts.

So I have decided to fuel my passion for them by reading as many books in this genre as I can. Perhaps even revisiting books by some of my favourite authors such a Stephen King and Dean Koontz.

Here are my thoughts on Anna Dressed in Blood:

The book begins a little slowly, but creates the ambience perfectly.

Theseus Cassio Lowood (Cas) is an average teen who has a quite a peculiar part-time job, he kills the dead. Inheriting a magical athame (knife) from his father, he is now the heir of the ghost-hunting lineage.

He is in the search for Anna. A vengeful spirit who is draped in a white dress dripping of blood. But she is different, more powerful than any other spirit he has come across…

While I did enjoy the book , I do think it needed a little more improvements such as, a greater explanation of the types of Witchcraft and Voodoo practices that takes place in the book, little details such as chants and spells were completely left out, a greater depth in character building and a better explanation of Cas’ family bloodline of ghost-hunters. I also thought that start was a bit slow and the end was rushed.

That being said, the author does use brilliant vocabulary and a vividly imaginative writing style. Blake has a capability to intrigue readers. I will definitely be reading the second book, as I am not quite done yet with Anna’s tale.

I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

girl_in_blood_by_teratini-d4d82fq

Leave a Reply

